top of page

Spoonie Support.

Hi, all.

Sorry it's been a little quiet on the blog front. It's been a busy week and weekend. It was my partners birthday and we had a lovely evening at an Elemis spa and spent the night in a hotel. The spa was lovely, and I opted for a deep tissue back massage, thinking it might help with my muscle pain. BOY, WAS I WRONG. The woman nearly killed me. Okay, maybe I'm being a little dramatic, but Jeez, it hurt badly.

I forgot to mention that I have Fibromyalgia, and that I have pressure points that really hurt when touched. She was digging her elbows into the pressure points in my shoulders and I was cringing. And this was medium pressure people. MEDIUM. Imagine hard pressure? Sod that. I felt like I'd been hit by a truck after I came out, not relaxed, as I would have hoped.

You're probably wondering why I didn't just ask her to lessen the pressure because it was hurting, and at one point she did ask me if the pressure was okay, and I squeaked out a little 'yes, it's fine.' The reason I didn't say, no, it hurts, is because I'm very awkward, and a tad paranoid. So, of course, me telling her it was hurting me had already turned into an argument or something bad happening before she even asked me. So, I just grimed and bared it. So, advice to fellow spoonies who are having a spa day, DO NOT ask for medium or hard pressure, especially if you have muscular problems.

Anyway, I just wanted to post to let you know that there will be a lot more activity on the blog shortly. I have a post I'm currently writing which should be up at some point this week, and I also wanted to tell you all about a new group I have made on Facebook, which is linked to the Spoonie Talk page. The group is called Spoonie Support, and it's basically a place where we can all communicate, help each other out, whine, rant, and all that business. We also welcome family and friends who know, or support someone with a chronic illness, as we understand it's also stressful and hard work on all levels to care for/have a loved one with a chronic illness. So please go ahead and join the group. We can't wait to get to know you all support each other.

Click here to join the group :) See you there!

Stacey x


bottom of page