top of page

Tattoos don't hurt.

Tattos don't hurt.

Well, not when you compare it to an endo flare. You see, I have a pretty high pain threshold...I'm still able to function, even when I'm at a 7/10. (To give you an idea of my personal pain scale, my 10 was experienced when I was lying in A&E, convulsing in agony, and finding morphine had very little effect.) My normal could be the average person's awful. Now, don't get me wrong, I'm not superwoman. When I actually verbalize that I'm in pain, I genuinely am. In those moments, I need space, all the pain meds I can get my hands on, and numerous heat pads. Sometimes, these are the times when I feel lost, when the frustration of not being able to do simple tasks makes me feel usless and vulnerable. These are the times I use every spoon I possess to stop myself from going into full crisis mode. And in these instances, all I can do is bare it and wait...wait until the endo flare finally gives up and lets me get back to my 'normal levels'.

At normal, I am functioning, able to attempt productivity, and able to take two steps forward instead of three or four steps back.

And let me tell you this - the aim is to always keep moving forward, to continue, as my sister would say, to live my best life and not let my diagnosis hold me back.

We each have personal pain scales for life events, whether this be physical or emotional, and we all need to develop individual ways of climbing up onto higher ground. And so, to everyone reading this who has, is having, or will have their own life 'flare up' of some kind, I say these three things: keep going! Don't give up, and give yourself a pat on the back that you've already made it this far.

Much love to you all...and don't be scared of tattoos - they really aren't that bad.

*** As you can see from the picture, I received a beautifully designed Manchester bee tattoo, from Numinous Tattoo Studio in Birkenhead. This was in remembrance of the twenty-two victims who sadly lost their lives in the Manchester bombing, and in unity with all who have been affected by the event in my home city. I would like to pay special recognition to Martyn Hett, who has touched many lives and inspired those who knew him, and beyond, to live life to the very fullest. ***


bottom of page