top of page

Does the IUD (coil) help endometriosis?

(For the purpose of this post, I will be writing about the hormonal coil (otherwise know as the mirena), due to it being the one gynaecologists recommend for endometriosis, and also because this is the one I had fitted about 9 months ago. The mirena coil is a small, plastic T shaped device that releases hormones.)

We've all heard horror stories about the coil. Let's be honest, the thought of having a small plastic or copper device inserted into the uterus isn't exactly appealing, and it's probably not anyone's first choice as a contraceptive - but what if your gynaecologist has recommended that you have the coil fitted to help your endometriosis? You've been given a leaflet and sent on your way to decide if it's something you want to try, but you're still unsure.

Perhaps you're left wondering if the coil actually helps endometriosis. Well, I can't say yes, or no. And it seems neither can health professionals - they can recommened it, but they can't say it will be 100% effective. This is due to there being little studies conducted, and no concrete evidence that the coil will help. However, of the handful of studies undertaken, results concluded that the coil seemed to lessen inflammation in the pelvic region and also prevent any new growth - but not in all cases.

Unfortunately, the only way to find out if the coil is effective in treating your endometriosis, is to try it. Easier said than done, right? Most of us are probably put off by the 'is it painful?' question, and it's possible side effects. Again, this varies from woman to woman. Some say the insertion is easy, other say it's excruciating, some women experience a lot of side effects, and others experience little to no side effects. It really all comes down to your body and how well it takes to the coil. Although I can't give you a yes or no answer, hopefully this post will give you a little more insight into the coil, if it's right for you, and how it can help.

If you're anything like me, having any kind of internal exam isn't just uncomfortable, but painful. It's only natural to want to avoid that sort of pain, and it may lead to you deciding not to try the coil. (This is what deterred me for two years!) If you have endometriosis, you will understand how traumatic and uncomfortable it can be leading up to a diagnosis - we've been poked and prodded enough times than we care to think about! So going through another internal for the sake of something that might not even help, didn't settle with me.

I'll just get on with it, I thought.

Yeah, that didn't work. 

My endometriosis got to a point where I was unable to walk 10 minutes down the road without my stomach starting to cramp. Every single day I would experience horrible period like cramps in my tummy and lower back, sharp stabbing pains in my pelvic region, and dull aches that spread into my buttocks and legs. A few years ago, this only happened a couple of times a week, but toward the end of last year, it was a constant thing, only giving me small amounts of pain free time - this is the reason I decided to bite the bullet and give the coil a try. My thought process was this -  What's a little bit of pain, if going through that pain is going to stop me from being in agony every day. And if it doesn't work, at least I could say I gave it a good shot. If pain is something that is a big factor preventing you from trying to coil, you should be able to have some localized pain relief. Another option would be - if you're due to have surgery- ask to have to coil put in whist you're sedated.

The diagram to the right gives you an idea of where the coil is placed (The image shows the copper coil, however the hormonal coil is placed in the same way and place) The string hangs from the cervix, and once it's in place you should be able to check it's still there by feeling for the string. (Admittedly I haven't done this yet...I'm just trusting it's still there).

As with any contraception, there are side effects, although according to past studies, women tend to show less, to no side effects compared to other methods of birth control. I'm sure that most people will already be aware of the side effects, but I wanted to list the more common ones here, as well as share what side effects I had.

1) Bleeding and spotting between periods

2) Amenorrhea (absent periods)

3) Pelvic pain

4) Heavier periods during the first few weeks after insertion of device.

5) Ovarian Cysts 

4) Headaches/Migraines 

5) Backache

6) Nausea/vomiting

7) Weight gain

8) Breast tenderness

9) Mood changes

10) Loss of sex drive.

Again, this is just a small list of the more common side effects. If you would like to see a more extensive list, and more information, I'd recommend visiting WebMD.

After I had the mirena inserted, I had little side effects. I do recall having some stomach cramps, and some spotting, coming and going for about 3-4 weeks after my appointment, but to be honest, I had spotting and cramps all the time with endometriosis, so these side effects weren't anything I was concerned about. I have only had one period, which was soon after insertion. Since then, my periods have been absent. Again, this isn't something that has bothered me, because my periods have always heavy and painful, and I don't miss enduring them every month! The only side effects I can say I have noticed are, headaches, nausea, mood changes, weight gain, and loss of sex drive.

Weight gain is probably a concerning factor for some women, but in the last 9 months, I might have gained about half a stone, and honestly, I can't quite say it's 100% down to the coil, as I'm on other medications that can cause weight. (I also might have been eating like I have two stomachs, but we can keep that between us.)

The problem I have is trying to distinguish side effects from symptoms. Because I have other chronic illnesses that all consist of similar symptoms, I'm never 100% sure what's causing what. The two I would say have more likely been a side effect caused by the coil, are headaches and nausea. I say this because, although I did suffer with headaches and nausea before I had the coil fitted, these symptoms have gotten a lot more frequent. I get a headache almost every day at some point, and nausea that comes and goes every other day.

So, what about the benefits?

Well, I can honestly say since I had the coil fitted, my endo pain has been mild. I get cramps maybe once out of a week, and occasionally get little twinges of pain in my pelvic area, but no where near as much as I used to endure. I do still get dull aches around my hip bones most days, but it's bearable.

However, hte last two weeks seem to have gone a little backward. Last week, I woke around 3.a.m with my tummy contracting. It lasted all through the night, into the following morning, went away for a few hours, then came back again. It continued like this for the remaining week. It seems to have settled down again now, and I can happily say that, if what I was experiencing last week was a flare up, the pain of having a flare with the coil compared to without it, is in another league. Although I couldn't help but wonder if my body had possibly gotten used to the coil and it had become innefective - hopefully this isn't the case - and if that ever did happen, I'll be sure to let you all know! 

Would I recommend it to anyone? It's difficult to say, because everyone reacts differently to different treatments. I'd hate to suggest to someone to give it a shot, only to hear it didn't work for them or made it worse. So, I won't say yes, but I won't say no, either.

What I will say is, if your endometriosis is beginning to, or perhaps it already is getting in the way of your daily life, then the coil shouldn't be disregarded as an option. Discuss it with your Dr or gynaecologist and see if they recommend it, too.

If you haven't tried any other ways to relive your pain, rather than going straight to the coil, it might be a good idea to test other things to see if they work for you. Try out some other, less invasive options, and if all else fails, then give the coil a shot. I didn't go straight for the coil. I pretty much ate painkillers every day, had heat patches stuck all over my stomach and back, and I also tried a few other birth control options, which didn't work for me.

If you do decide to have the coil fitted, give it a good few months to work. It took about 4-5 months before I started noticing a significant reduction in pain. So don't give up on it straight away if you aren't seeing any results. Like any other kind treatment, it takes time. However, you can always have it removed should you think it's not working or is making your symptoms worse.

Obviously, I'm no doctor, but all I can do is share my experience and thoughts, in hopes it might help someone else's decision a little easier.

So I guess my experience of the coil overall, is good. I've had no bad side effects, my pain is manageable and flare ups...what flare ups? =) Okay, I won't say that, because I'll probably jinx myself. BUT, I've had one flare up in 9 months, and for me, that's amazing. 

I wish all you endo warriors out there the best of luck on your journey, and I hope you all find a suitable treatment to help you manage the condition a little better. I've left a few websites below should you want to research further.

Sending lots of spoons your way.

Stacey x


bottom of page